top of page

Behind the Lens

Hello!

I'm Heather Young & I'm a San Jose County Wedding, Family, & Lifestyle Photographer working out of Los Gatos, CA. I'm often visiting Southern California and am also available for traveling shoots, too. If I can get there via train, plane or car, we can work out the details. So, if you're far, just give me a ring and we'll talk.

Who is Heather Hiding?

A recent grad of Brigham Young University, I have my Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Music Education. My major interests include singing in the shower, playing piano 'til my fingers ache​, and of course, photographing the joys of love, family & life. I also love getting to go on adventures and spending time with my husband. And, in just a short while, I'm excited to become a mother, taking care of and hanging out with my little son!

My inspiration.

Heather Hiding, my favorite children's book written by Nancy White

Carlstrom, portrays the sweet and simple story of a little girl, Heather, trying

to find her place in the world. Through the book, Heather finds out that while

her brothers and sisters all are wonderfully athletic, smart or fast, she too has

a gift. Her talent is being small enough to stay hidden and observe the world

around her during a game of Hide and Seek.

We all have our talents, our own personal gifts. Mine is being able to see

beauty in the world & people around me. When I'm photographing what I see

through the lens of my Canon DSLR, I can hide away from all the toils and

troubles of the world and shoot what is beautiful & good & joyous!

My camera is my happy place; my hiding spot from the rest of the world. It is

the medium in which I choose to best portray the world around me. I am

simply a bystander, camera in hand, ready to capture what everyone else

passes by. I am...Heather Hiding.

How I got started.

When I was fourteen, I decided to save up all my money to purchase my very

own camera. It was a Canon Powershot point-and-shoot (I'm a Canon-lover at

heart!) which I simply adored. I had my start in macro photography--

specifically nature and flowers. But, since the day I brought home my first

point and shoot, I have had experience taking pictures of a variety of subjects;

from flowers to faces, people to places, I've got the photography skills and

experience to capture your every photography need.

My specific skills lie in photographing Weddings, Family Portraits & Newborns.

I have a variety of experience in photographing other events as well--from

commercial dance promos, head shots, prom & graduation. If you are looking

for a photographer for any of these other events, give me a ring (on the phone,

not the jewelry)!

Thanks for reading and be sure to check back often!

--Heather Young

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page